February in Boston

abigail meyers
3 min readMay 12, 2022

--

Boston, I’m back.

After spending 12 hours there in September, I landed in Boston again right after midnight on February 19. On January 28, I officially placed my deposit to enroll at Simmons University this coming fall and will be spending the next 4 years right on the Fenway!

I was excited to return to the 617- especially knowing I’ll have a lot of exploring to do these next four years.

On a crisp February morning, I woke up in my hotel across the street from Fenway Park. A mile-long walk later, I was checked in for my Admitted Students Day at Simmons! I spent the day touring the campus, making new friends, and learning about my next four years as a Shark. It was a wonderful time, and I can’t wait to see my friends again in the fall. As excited as I was to open the next chapter of my life, I was even more excited to dive deeper into the city itself- even if it was below freezing throughout my entire trip.

After I finished everything up at Simmons, my parents and I walked around the Fenway neighborhood a bit more. We stopped at Boston’s Time Out Market, which had a never-ending selection of food- something for everyone (even my Simmons friends who have an infinite number of allergies). Ultimately, my parents and I landed at Yard House for a quick dinner. We went with the firecracker shrimp, and I’m so happy we did- because I can’t wait to have it again on a more regular basis in a few months. Later, though, my dad and I escaped our hotel- we couldn’t leave Boston without trying an iconic Wahlburger. Did I almost cry eating it because it was that good? Yes. Was I being overdramatic? Absolutely.

The next morning, my parents and I went on a bit of a longer walk. We arrived that chilly morning at Stephanie’s on Newbury- a casual brunch spot on Boston’s iconic Newbury St. My parents and I had a brunch reservation with some colleagues of my mom’s- Boston locals, and one of them even being a Simmons Graduate student herself. If you’re going to try one food item in Boston, do yourself a favor and have one of their breakfast skillets.

After our filling- and delicious- brunch, we walked further until we were smack in the middle of the hustle-and-bustle that is downtown Boston. I’ve been to several major cities in my life- NYC, Los Angeles, and more- but none were filled with history the way Boston was. I looked down, and my feet were right where the Boston Massacre had occurred. Everywhere I looked, there was a piece of history. From Faneuil Hall, the Old State House, to the cemetery where Paul Revere was buried; there was something to learn at every turn. Upon my entrance to the Old State House, I was greeted by pieces of history. I spent hours upon hours reading testimonies, looking at artifacts, and talking to employees and fellow history buffs. Before I knew it, the museum was closing.

We left the museum and headed to a local bar. My family and I picked Beantown Pub; it was more my mom’s selection- she saw the history pun on the board outside which drew us right in. This casual pub is a stone’s throw from Suffolk University right off the Freedom Trail. I ended up having a simple appetizer of baked beans- which is popular in Boston? I wasn’t too crazy about it at first, but I’m assuming the more time I spend in the city, I will be.

We were back at Boston Logan for our flight home straight from the pub. In the blink of an eye, I was back home and in instant withdrawal.

Safe to say, I can’t wait for college in this amazing city.

--

--

abigail meyers
0 Followers

(she/her) big fan of Trader Joe’s, Broadway, equality, and Taylor Swift. Simmons ‘26. Future reporter.